IPL 2018: 5 Retained players who would've fetched more in the auction

IPL 2018: 5 Retained players who would've fetched more in the auction

IPL 2018: 5 Retained players who would've fetched more in the auction

RCB also chose to retain South African explosive batsman AB de Villiers and young Mumbai batsman Sarfaraz Khan.

The eight franchises together retained 18 players, including the lone uncapped player in batsman Sarfaraz Khan, who agreed to play for a sum of Rs. 1.75 crore, although the guideline price for the uncapped player was Rs. 3 crore.

"I am really excited about returning to the Chennai Super Kings in a coaching capacity and working with the players to help them get the best out of themselves and also help to bring success to this great franchise", the Australian batting great was quoted as saying by CSK's official website.

Prior to the players' retention event, it was known that each franchise will have an opportunity to retain five of its players - either via player retention or through Right to Match (RTM), which is set to take place during the IPL player auction on January 27 and 28 in Bengaluru. Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab made a decision to only retain one player. "We will use our right to match in auctions".

The surprise however came when the KKR's title-winning captain Gautam Gambhir and RCB's Chris Gayle were released by their respective teams.

More news: Romaine Lettuce Might Be Tainted with Deadly E. Coli, Experts Warn

There was no significant surprise with inaugural year victor Rajasthan Royals retaining a lone player in Australian captain Steve Smith and Kings XI Punjab making its presence felt by going for all-rounder Axar Patel at an agreed sum of Rs. 6.75 crore.

Two-time IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders have retained West Indians Sunil Narine (8.5 crores) and Andre Russell (7 crores).

As CSK and RR will be returning after 2 years, the council has allowed them to retain players from either their original squad of 2015 or from the players who played for Rising Pune Supergiant and Gujarat Lions in the last two seasons.

Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya.

Delhi Daredevils: Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer. Axar Patel in Kings XI Punjabi and Steve Smith in Rajasthan Royals.

Latest News