BJP Suffers Body Blow In UP By-Poll, Loses Yogi Adityanath's Gorakhpur

Some BJP leaders admitted that the loss in Gorakhpur rankled the party more than Phulpur which was won for the first time in 2014

Some BJP leaders admitted that the loss in Gorakhpur rankled the party more than Phulpur which was won for the first time in 2014

BJP had won Phulpur for the first time.

At the end of the 25th round of counting in Phulpur, Samajwadi Party candidate Nagendra Patel had bagged 271,752 votes, establishing an unassailable lead of over 38,498 votes over the BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel (233,254 votes).

The former chief minister also congratulated Samajwadi Party (SP) President Akhilesh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati for the stupendous performance in Gorakhpur and Phulpur.

In Phulpur Lok Sabha bypoll seat in the state, Samajwadi Party registered a massive victory over the ruling BJP. The two parties had polled over 20 per cent votes each in the 2017 Assembly polls.

The saffron leadership, that was rejoicing over having demolished the Left citadel of Tripura, was in for a rude shock on Wednesday when the BJP candidate lost the key Gorakhpur parliamentary seat. The by-polls in the state were seen as the first crucial test for chief minister Nitish Kumar, who deserted the "mahagathbandhan" he had formed with the Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) to form the government again with the support of the BJP. So, who voted against the BJP in his home turf?

More news: Jets bring back QB Josh McCown; also in talks with Teddy Bridgewater

In Bihar's Araria, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress are pitted against the BJP-Janata Dal (United) alliance and it's the first big test for Nitish Kumar after he walked out of the Grand Alliance previous year to team up with the BJP. The defeat in Gorakhpur is all the more galling as the BJP had won this seat seven consecutive times and Yogi Addityanand had been elected from this constituency five times.

"BJP has suffered a humiliating loss in the Lok Sabha seats held by the CM & Dy CM of UP".

Over confident of its victory in the run up to polls, the party found it hard to explain the loss. Recent by-elections in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh had corroborated it.

"Congratulations to the winners of today's by-elections". And while Modi's charisma may have waned considerably since 2014 when he swayed the electorate with his slogans of "Sab ka Saath, Sabka Vikas" and "Achhe Din", he still retains his ability to be a force multiplier for his party.

The BJP also won Vadodara, which has been its traditional stronghold seat. The BJP is leading in Bhabua while RJD leads again in Jehanabad. This incident was raised in the ongoing sessions in both Uttar Pradesh Assembly and in Lok Sabha by the opposition parties.

Latest News