Narayan Rane files nomination for Rajya Sabha

Narayan Rane files nomination for Rajya Sabha

Narayan Rane files nomination for Rajya Sabha

Rane will contest from Maharashtra, Chandrasekhar from Karnataka, Baluni from Uttarakhand, Pande from Chhattisgarh.

Among the candidates from UP, prominent is Ashok Bajpai. Even if the lone CPI member and an independent MLA support the Congress, the total strength of the party does not exceed 15. Agarwal joined the BJP on Monday.

Senior BJP leaders Thawar Chand Gehlot, Dharmendra Pradhan, Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni along with Congress's Rajmani Patel filed their nominations from Madhya Pradesh. If so, the number of Union Ministers from Kerala would raise to two.

Before going to Assembly, BJP's Rajya Sabha candidates reached BJP Headquarters and garlanded the statues of Pandit Deendayal Upadhyay, Kushabhau Thakre and Rajmata Scindia. Union Minister of State for Road Transport and Highways Mansukh L Mandaviya and Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Parshottam Rupala will contest election from Gujarat. While the BJP is poised to win its all four seats, the Congress is expected to wrest one seat.

All the four seats are held by the BJP.

More news: 'This is Us' emotional finale looks back, and ahead

Sitting Rajya Sabha MP Bhupendra Yadav, Meena and veteran party leader Madan Lal Saini also filed nominations as BJP candidates. NDA is set to get a big surge in the upper house when votes are counted. In case the election is necessary, it would be conducted on March 23 from 0900 hrs to 1600 hrs.

State president of RJD Ram Chandra Purvey announced the names of candidates before media persons at party office.

The other distinguishing features of the Rajya Sabha nominations from Bihar this year are that there are no "outsider" candidates and no Dalit or backward caste candidate. The Congress has little chance of getting its nominee elected from Telangana.

The Congress has only 27 MLAs in the 243-member Bihar Assembly.

According to reports, Congress' decision to field its third candidate came as a blow to JDS that had hoped Congress would support its candidate, keeping the larger picture of the post poll scenario after the assembly elections in mind. BM Farooq filed nomination as a JDS candidate. However, with no choice left, the JD (S) now makes a plan forward, to get ahead with the political game. However, there was a technical hitch in his nomination papers, with the returning officer asking the Congress leader to produce a "no due" certificate from the bank from which he had taken a loan and repaid it. Yagnik too filed her nomination.

Latest News