Sea of Thieves' Treasure Hunt Latest Details and Time Frame

Sea Of Thieves real life quest for golden bananas could win you £80k

Sea of Thieves is having a "digital treasure hunt" to win an £80000 bunch of golden bananas

Yes, you heard us right, no, this is not a joke, and yes, this is actually happening.

For those that haven't been following Sea of Thieves' development, the banana theme isn't quite as random as it might first appear; in-game, bananas are now the only item that can restore health, so have a kind of skewed prominence during your swashbuckling escapades.

As we've previously talked, this treasure hunt is going to start on the 19 of March.

Xbox is celebrating the upcoming launch of pirate game Sea of Thieves by giving wannabe treasure hunters the chance to win a set of golden bananas worth more than £20,000 each. You can pre-order it from the Microsoft Store here. There are 15 fiendish puzzles to solve! On Wednesday, March 21 at 13:00 PT / 21:00 GMT / 07:00 AEDT (Thursday, March 22) each team will be able to input the answers to those 15 riddles at

More news: The Truth Behind Katy Perry's Lawsuit With A Nun That Died

Even those who don't come in first place won't walk away empty handed - runners up will be rewarded with limited edition Sea of Thieves golden "doubloons" valued at over £300 each.

To enter the competition and join the quest for Golden Bananas, you can join together with four friends and visit this website to solve a total of 15 puzzles through March 21st.

But in real life, they could make you very, very rich. The countries that will be able to enter this hunt are the UK, Canada, Germany, Australia, the U.S., and France.

If you fancy gawking at the grand prize in all its shiny glory, the golden bananas will be displayed at the National Maritime Museum's Neptune Court on March 14.

Latest News