Six ministers quit Sri Lanka's troubled government

Президент Шри Ланки приостановил работу парламента

Six ministers quit Sri Lanka's troubled government

The President of Sri Lanka Maitripala Sirisena suspended the work of Parliament until may 8, reports RIA "Novosti" with reference to the press service of the Department of press of the country.

The prime minister's United National Party had increased pressure on the followers of President Maithripala Sirisena - who voted against Wickremesinghe in a recent no-confidence motion - to resign.

Yapa and the five ministers had voted against Wickremesinghe in the last week's no trust motion brought by former President Mahinda Rajapaska-led Joint Opposition (JO), following which the UNP members had been demanding their ouster from the government.

One of the ministers, Anura Yapa, in charge of Disaster Management, who had already tendered his resignation, said that while the six ministers had resigned, 10 other state and deputy ministers belonging to the SLFP had vacated their positions.

The official said they would work as a separate group in parliament. "Our duty will be to promote the SLFP from now on", he added.

More news: Anticipated $-0.05 EPS for Precision Drilling Corporation (PD) on April, 23

Four new Ministers were appointed today temporarily to fill the portfolios left vacant by the resignation of six Sri Lanka Freedom party (SLFP) ministers yesterday.

The other SLFP ministers, who had remained absent from the House during the no-confidence motion, will remain in the government, sources said.

Mr. Sirisena's directive comes at a time when the national unity government continues to face uncertainty that began soon after the February local government elections.

The SLFP is to decide later this month if it will remain in government.

In the run-up to the election, Sirisena branded the prime minister and his party as more corrupt than the Rajapaksa regime, which Sirisena and Wickremesinghe jointly toppled in 2015.

Latest News